top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Purple Sector

Welcome to The Purple Sector


Hey everyone, welcome to The Purple Sector! For our first post we thought you might want to get to know the faces behind the screen, Charlotte and Hannah.


Who we are

Charlotte: Hi guys, I'm Charlotte and I'm from Essex. I'm 21 and I’m currently at university studying Media and Communications. After I graduate I am hoping that I can enter the world of Sports PR and Social Media, ideally in motorsports and F1.


Hannah: Shwmae, I’m Hannah from Wales. I’m 22 and I hope to be starting a Masters in Journalism in September. Post-graduation, I want to be able to work as a Sports Journalist or a Press Officer, preferably in Motorsports.



How long have we been a fan of F1

Hannah: I’ve been a fan of Formula 1 since I was little as it was one of the sports my parents enjoyed watching and sharing my birthday with the icon Michael Schumacher, only made me love the sport more. The earliest memory I have of Formula 1 was the 2006 Brazilian Grand Prix, with it being Michael Schumacher’s last race for Ferrari, although I know I definitely saw some races before then as one of my favourite toys was my model F1 car (funnily enough I only discovered recently that the plastic driver model was made to look like Senna).


Charlotte: I've been a fan of F1 since I was younger because me and my dad used to watch it all the time together. I think my earliest memory was watching Lewis back in the Mclaren days and 2008 era winning a race when I was on holiday in Lanzarote. I have liked it ever since and still sit down to support both Lewis and Mclaren every race. The Jenson and Lewis partnership, being all British, really did give a sense of pride even when I was such a young age.



Favourite driver



Charlotte: Back in the day my favourite drivers were always Lewis and Jenson! My love for Lewis continues to this day and I will support him till the day he retires. He stands for everything that we need in this day and age and truly is one of the best drivers of all time! Recently, my favourites have been expanding, one of my ‘newer’ favorites is Daniel Ricciardo. His fun loving attitude really does brighten up the grid and makes the sometimes boring press conferences fun. I’m very excited to see him at McLaren next year with Lando. Lando is also one of my favourite drivers, alongside George Russell and Charles Leclerc. These younger guys are really bringing something new to the sport and as a 21 year old it is quite refreshing to see because as the world becomes more digital these guys are changing the way that we interact with them online and whilst we watch the racing. I can't wait to see them racing again this year and showing all the things that they have improved on over the LONG break.



Hannah: Well it’s safe to say I’ve had a few favourites over the years. As I mentioned earlier, I worshiped Michael Schumacher as a little girl and I’ve always had a soft spot for my favourite Brit, Jenson Button. However, my all time favourite driver has to be the Honey Badger, Daniel Ricciardo. From his early days at HRT, he became a firm favourite of mine and the first piece of F1 merchandise I bought was his Red Bull shirt. In the past couple of years, I’ve also become fans of Charles Leclerc (who I met at the Autosport International Show), George Russell, Lando Norris and Alex Albon, who I can’t wait to see racing soon and hopefully fighting for championships in the next couple of years.



Other Series



Hannah: I’ve followed F2 and F3 since 2015 (when they were GP2, GP3 and Formula 3 respectively) and I remember getting really excited when I saw Mitch Evans and Pierre Gasly at the 2016 British Grand Prix. In recent seasons, I’ve been following the rise of Mick Schumacher and Callum Ilott through the ranks and I hope to see them both competing for the title this year. I’ve also been following Formula E since its inception. It’s been incredible to see the progress the series has made and I was supposed to be attending the Rome E-Prix this year (thanks Coronavirus). With 6 races being held in Berlin this year, it’ll be interesting to see who will take the title; my money is on Antonio Felix Da Costa, but I wouldn’t underestimate Mitch Evans.



Charlotte: I am relatively new to watching the other series, but I have followed F2 for quite a while now. I think my favourite memory of F2 is Charles Leclerc’s race in Bahrain when he went from 14th to 1st, what a drive! I’ve recently started to F3 and FE with my uni housemate and I’m very excited to watch these alongside the F1 races this season. The 6 final races for FE will also be very exciting to watch and I’m intrigued to find out who the champion will be. The F2 drivers this year are all such good racers and it will be tight up there at the top, can’t wait to see how that fight turns out.



Events Post Corona



Charlotte: I was meant to be going to both the British and Hungarian GP this year but obviously Corona had different ideas. I have transferred my tickets over to next year so next year is looking like a great year, if all goes ahead as planned. I am also hoping to go to testing if it is still in Barcelona and hopefully go to the Autosport International Car Show to try and hopefully see some of my favourite drivers. I am also planning on trying to get to another GP in Europe as next summer will be my final summer before the real work begins.



Hannah: I had initially planned to go to the Rome E-Prix in April and I am hoping to be able to attend it next year instead (fingers crossed). In 2021, I am looking forward to attending the Autosport International Car Show for the second time and for the whole weekend instead of just one day. I am also planning to attend F1 Winter Testing (degree timetable permitting), hopefully, paddock passes will still be available and I am looking at attending another F1 race weekend as I thoroughly enjoyed attending the 2016 British Grand Prix and want to see what the atmosphere is like at another race, possibly in Spa-Francorchamps or Monza as they are two of my favourite race tracks and they have a firm place in the hearts of many F1 fans.


That's a little bit about us! Make sure you follow all our socials and YouTube channel for upcoming content over the race season, we will link them all below :)





58 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page